EP, USP and JP

There are three major regional pharmacopeia organizations. They are responsible for the preparation and publication of pharmacopoeial editions. These pharmacopoeias cover commonly used prescription and over-the-counter medicines, as well as food supplements, excipients and other health products manufactured and sold.

  • The European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines (EDQM) - responsible for the European Pharmacopoeia (EP)

  • The United States Pharmacopoeia Convention - responsible for the United States Pharmacopoeia (USP).

  • The Japanese Ministry of Health - responsible for the Japanese Pharmacopoeia (JP).

The texts of the European Pharmacopoeia deal with the following points: The qualitative and quantitative composition of medicinal products, the tests to be carried out for the medicinal products, the raw materials used in the manufacture of the medicinal products and the semi-finished products manufactured. In addition, this pharmacopoeia contains texts on substances, excipients and preparations of chemical, animal, human and plant origin for pharmaceutical use, on homeopathic products and preparations, antibiotics, and on dosage forms and owners of medicinal products. Other items covered are biological preparations, blood and plasma derivatives, vaccines and radiopharmaceutical preparations. The texts of the European Pharmacopoeia are legally binding.

The United States Pharmacopoeia Convention is a scientific non-profit organization that establishes standards for the identity, action, quality and purity of drugs, food ingredients and dietary supplements manufactured, distributed and ingested worldwide. The USP contains texts on active ingredients in medicinal products, dosage forms and compounded preparations. The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is responsible for meeting USP standards in the United States. The standards are developed at the USP and are used in over 140 countries. USP standards are recognized in a number of U.S. federal laws.

While the USP is not a governmental organization, it works closely with government agencies, ministries, and legislatures around the world to establish standards for the identity, potency, quality, and purity of drugs to ensure the quality of medicines, dietary supplements, and food ingredients. USP standards are recognized in laws or accepted as a means of meeting certain regulatory standards in several other countries. In addition, many governments and international regulatory agencies have incorporated them into their laws and regulations to ensure the quality of products and ingredients manufactured in or exported to other countries.

The Japanese Pharmacopoeia (JP) is a book of official pharmaceutical standards applicable in Japan, established by the Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA) Secretariat and endorsed by the Japanese Ministry of Health and Labour.

The JP contains the official standards required in Japan to ensure the quality of pharmaceuticals in light of advances in science and technology and ever-increasing requirements. The JP contains standards for the specifications of medicinal products. It also describes testing methods that can be used to guarantee the quality of all medicines. The JP also plays an important role in determining the quality criteria considered essential for public health and medical treatment.

The JP is evaluated by expert committees at regular meetings held by the JP Secretariat. The JP was first published in 1886 and implemented the following year. The JP is revised on a regular basis. The 16th edition of the JP has been in effect since April 2011 by virtue of Japanese Ministerial Notice No. 65.

Source: APG Europe GmbH

 

Learn more?

Would you like to learn more about our range or do you have any questions? Contact us by phone, email or live chat.

EP, USP und JP


Es gibt drei wichtige regionale Pharmacopeia-Organisationen. Sie sind für die Erstellung und Veröffentlichung von Arzneibuch-Ausgaben verantwortlich. In diesen Arzneibüchern werden sowohl die häufig verwendeten, die rezeptpflichtigen und rezeptfreien Arzneimittel als auch Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, Hilfsstoffe sowie sonstige hergestellten und verkauften Gesundheitsprodukte behandelt.
  • Das European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines (EDQM) – verantwortlich für das europäische Arzneibuch (EP)
  • Die United States Pharmakopöe Convention - verantwortlich für das US-Amerikanische Arzneibuch (United States Pharmakopöe oder USP)
  • Das japanische Gesundheitsministerium – verantwortlich für das japanische Arzneibuch (Japanisches Pharmakopöe oder JP)
Die Texte des europäischen Arzneibuches befassen sich mit den folgenden Punkten: Die qualitative und quantitative Zusammensetzung von Arzneimitteln, die für die Arzneimittel durchzuführenden Prüfungen, die bei der Herstellung der Arzneimittel verwendeten Rohstoffe sowie die hergestellten Halbfertigprodukte. Zudem enthält dieses Arzneibuch Texte zu den Substanzen, Hilfsstoffen und Präparaten chemischen, tierischen, menschlichen und pflanzlichen Ursprungs für die pharmazeutische Anwendung, über homöopathische Produkte und Präparate, Antibiotika sowie über die Dosierungsformen und Besitzer von Arzneimitteln. Weitere behandelte Punkte sind biologische Präparate, Blut- und Plasmaderivate, Impfstoffe sowie radiopharmazeutische Präparate. Die Texte des europäischen Arzneibuches sind rechtsverbindlich.
Die United States Pharmakopöel Convention ist eine wissenschaftliche gemeinnützige Organisation, welche Normen für die Identität, Wirkung, Qualität und Reinheit von weltweit hergestellten, vertriebenen und eingenommenen Arzneimitteln, Nahrungsmittelzutaten und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln aufstellt. Das USP enthält Texte zu den Wirkstoffen in Arzneimitteln, zu den Dosierungsformen sowie zu zusammengestellten Präparaten. Für die Erfüllung der USP-Normen in den Vereinigten Staaten ist die Food and Drug Administration (FDA) zuständig. Die Normen werden bei der USP entwickelt und kommen in über 140 Ländern zur Anwendung. USP-Normen werden in einer Anzahl an US-amerikanischen Bundesgesetzen anerkannt.
Zwar ist die USP keine Regierungsorganisation, jedoch arbeitet sie eng mit Regierungsbehörden, Ministerien und gesetzgebenden Instanzen in der ganzen Welt zusammen, um Normen für die Identität, Wirkung, Qualität und Reinheit von Arzneimitteln aufzustellen, anhand derer die Qualität von Arzneimitteln, Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln und Nahrungsmittelzutaten garantiert werden kann. Die USP-Normen werden in verschiedenen anderen Ländern in Gesetzen anerkannt oder als Mittel zur Erfüllung bestimmter gesetzlicher Normen akzeptiert. Zudem wurden sie von vielen Regierungen und internationale Aufsichtsbehörden in deren Gesetzes- und Rechtsvorschriften aufgenommen, um durch sie die Qualität von Produkten und Zutaten, die in anderen Ländern hergestellt oder dorthin exportiert werden, zu sichern.
Das japanische Arzneibuch (JP) ist ein Buch mit den in Japan geltenden offiziellen pharmazeutischen Normen, die vom Sekretariat der Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA) aufgestellt und vom japanischen Gesundheits- und Arbeitsministerium bestätigt werden.

Das JP enthält die offiziellen Normen, die in Japan angesichts des Fortschritts in den Bereichen Wissenschaft und Technologie sowie der stetig steigenden Anforderungen zur Sicherstellung der Qualität von Arzneimitteln erforderlich sind. Das JP enthält Normen für die Spezifikationen von Arzneimitteln. Zudem sind in diesem Prüfmethoden beschrieben, anhand derer die Qualität sämtlicher Arzneimittel garantiert werden kann. Bei der Feststellung der für die Volksgesundheit und ärztlichen Behandlungen als wesentlich geltenden Qualitätskriterien spielt das JP ebenfalls eine wichtige Rolle.

Die Beurteilung des JP erfolgt bei regelmäßig vom Sekretariat des JP durchgeführten Sitzungen durch Sachverständigenausschüsse. Zuerst veröffentlicht wurde das JP im Jahre 1886, die Umsetzung erfolgte im darauf folgenden Jahr. Das JP wird regelmäßig überarbeitet. Die 16. Auflage des JP ist seit April 2011 kraft der japanischen Ministerumsbekanntmachung Nr. 65 gültig.

Quelle: APG Europe GmbH

 

Mehr erfahren?

Möchten Sie mehr über unser Sortiment erfahren oder haben Sie Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie uns per Telefon, Email oder Live-Chat.